Eye Help Animals, LLC ∫ Saving Wildlife Together - Saving the African Lion
 Saving Wildlife Together - Saving the African Lion

African Lion

(go back to The Animals)

Lions are the only cats that live in groups that are called prides. A pride may include up to three males and a dozen or so females and their young, with all the lionesses related. The females usually stay with the group but the males eventually leave to establish their own prides. Located in Sub-Saharan Africa and a very small population of Asian Lions in the Gir Forest of India, the lionís territory may include 100 square miles of grasslands, scrub, or open woodlands. Female lions are the prideís primary hunters with their prey including antelopes, zebras, wildebeest, impala, gazelle, and other large animals. Although the dominant male plays little or no part in the hunt, he is likely the first to eat, dragging the prey to a chosen spot then gorging himself before the females and cubs can eat. A lioness has cubs about every two years with 2-5 cubs per litter. When the cubs are just six weeks old they begin to join their mother for a kill. By 15 months of age, the cubs can hunt small prey. The male lions take no part in raising the young.

African Lion - Fast Facts

Type: Mammal
Diet: Carnivore
Size: Head and body, 4.5 to 6.5 ft (1.4 to 2 m); Tail, 26.25 to 39.5 in (67 to 100 cm)
Weight: 265 to 420 lbs (120 to 191 kg)
Group name: Pride

Buy an Eye and help save the African Lion.

Please consider sharing us with others!  

Visit our blog Through Our Eyes
Copyright © 2008-2024 Eye Help Animals, LLC