Eye Help Animals, LLC ∫ Saving Wildlife Together - Saving the Eastern Cougar
 Saving Wildlife Together - Saving the Eastern Cougar

Eastern Cougar

(go back to The Animals)

The mountain lion, also known as the puma, cougar, and panther, is a highly adaptable wildcat. It lives in habitats ranging from snow-covered mountains to tropical rainforests throughout North and South American from southern Canada to Patagonia. Although it preys mostly on deer, they also eat smaller animals such as coyotes, porcupines, and raccoons, hunting mostly at night, dawn, or dusk. A single powerful bite to the nape of the neck can bring down a bear or a bison, as well. They are also agile tree climbers and will stalk and trap their prey in a tree. Females usually breed only once every two years, producing a litter of 3-4 kittens. At six weeks old the kittens will begin to eat meat while still suckling. They begin to hunt for themselves at nine months old but stay with their mother for two years. At that time they leave to establish their own territories. The mountain lion is a protected species but most farmers and cattle ranchers object to its presence and will often shoot the animal despite the fact that mountain lions rarely attack domestic stock.

Eastern Cougar - Fast Facts

Type: Mammal
Diet: Carnivore
Size: Head and body, 3.25 to 5.25 ft (1 to 1.6 m); Tail, 23.5 to 33.5 in (60 to 85 cm)
Weight: 136 lbs (62 kg)

Buy an Eye and help save the Eastern Cougar.

Please consider sharing us with others!  

Visit our blog Through Our Eyes
Copyright © 2008-2024 Eye Help Animals, LLC